top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Dempster

New Writers Awards - it's time to apply!

Now's the time to apply for the Scottish Book Trust New Writer's Awards. The deadline is 31st July. Full details are here.


Scottish Book Trust’s New Writers Awards highlight and nurture some of the most exciting new writing talent in Scotland. This year marks 15 years of the awards – we're very excited to celebrate with another brilliant year of supporting Scotland’s emerging writers. 


Awardees receive tailored support including a cash bursary, mentoring, a writing retreat, training in Press and PR and the opportunity to showcase their work to publishers and agents. 

Applications are welcome across six categories: Fiction & Narrative Non-Fiction, Poetry, Children’s & YA, Spoken Word, Scots, and Gaelic.   

The awards are free to apply to and all travel expenses are covered. We also have an Access Fund available to help support our awardees with any barriers they may face. 


Past Awardees have included Kirsty Logan, Nadine Aisha Jassat, Graeme Macrae Burnett, Rachelle Atalla and many more


Martin MacInnes, New Writers Awardee 2014 and author of Booker-longlisted In Ascension said:


 ‘Winning a New Writers Award was a life-changing moment for me; it was a huge shock, and I still remember exactly where I was when I got the call. The award supported me, raised my profile, gave me invaluable mentoring, and challenged me to work even harder and be more ambitious. I'll be forever grateful to Scottish Book Trust.’ 



Recent Posts

See All


HighlandLIT blog

bottom of page