Helen Sedgwick

© Michael Gallacher

TGS paperback cover.jpg
Helen Sedgewick When the dead come calli

Helen Sedgwick is the author of The Comet Seekers (Harvill Secker, 2016), The Growing Season (Harvill Secker, 2017), and most recently When The Dead Come Calling (Oneworld, 2020).


She has an MLitt in Creative Writing from Glasgow University and has won a Scottish Book Trust New Writers Award. 

The Comet Seekers was selected as a best book of 2016 by The Herald and Glamour, and The Growing Season was shortlisted for the Saltire Society’s Fiction Book of the Year. 


When The Dead Come Calling is the first in her Burrowhead Mysteries crime trilogy, the second of which (Where The Missing Gather) is coming in 2021.


She is represented by Cathryn Summerhayes of Curtis Brown.

As a literary editor, Helen has worked as the managing director of Cargo Publishing and managing editor of Gutter, and she founded Wildland Literary Editors in 2012. 


Throughout her writing career she has also worked as a creative writing tutor, mentor, freelance editor, publisher, and reviewer. 


Before that, Helen was a research physicist with a PhD in Physics from Edinburgh University. 


Having grown up in London and lived in Edinburgh and Glasgow, she now lives and writes in the Scottish Highlands.

[The April 2020 HighlandLIT online featured Helen in two videos. In the first of these, she introduces  her latest work When the dead come calling, and in the second she discusses the book with HighlandLIT Chair Paul Shanks.  (See links below)  ]

Get in touch: Helen would love for you to say hello!

Wildland Literary Editors Website:


Twitter: twitter.com/WildlandEditors

© 2020  Highland LIT


Visitor counter:

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now